Get ready to pony up more money to buy yet another vehicle pass to access public land in Washington State. Currently my tow vehicle contains the following access passes: Snowmobile Sno-Park Pass, a Recreation Pass for the Forest Service, a Washington Fish & Game Pass and a National Park Pass. I also pay for ORV (Off Road Vehicle) tabs on two motorcycles and an ATV providing trailhead and off road trail funding on Washington DNR (Department of Natural Resources) land. Now in an effort to save Washington State Parks, the State of Washington has developed the Discover Pass. While I totally support Washington State Parks, the Discover Pass is a poorly thought out piece of legislation. What I have discovered is that it is double taxation for myself and thousands of other outdoor enthusiasts! Not only will you need a Discover Pass on each motorized vehicle that you drive into a Washington State Park, but you will also need one to park at DNR Trailheads and Washington Department of Fish and Game accesses. Being that I already paid for DNR tabs (and will be required to do so in the future to continue using the trails) and have already purchased an access pass for Washington Fish and Wildlife access sites, I will be paying a second time for the same access privilege when I pay for a required Discover Pass. I also need to mention that State Parks already controls the funds paid for Sno-Park access.
Now for a few of the basic details you need to know from the Discover Pass website: http://discoverpass.wa.gov/
Beginning July 1, 2011, you will need to display the Discover Pass on your vehicle when visiting state recreation lands managed by the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission, the Washington State Department of Natural Resources and the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife.
Annual pass: $30
$35 with transaction and dealer fees if purchased at a licensed dealer, by phone or online.
Daily pass: $10
$11.50 with transaction and dealer fees if purchased at a licensed dealer, by phone or online.
Camping in a Washington state park: Your camping reservation stub or camping fee receipt will serve as your permit for the duration of your stay in the park where you have paid for a campsite.
Q. What is the penalty for not having a Discover Pass on my vehicle? A. The penalty is $99. This penalty is reduced to $59 if an individual provides proof of purchase of the Discover Pass to the court within 15 days after the notice of violation. _______________________________________________________________
Negotiating a maze of access passes and getting charged twice, just another adventure in RVing.
Follow Dave’s RV adventures as he travels the West in search of forgotten and unique places. For Dave, home is where you park it, the more remote the better!